Raising the price of sugary foods

The high amount of sweeteners added in various food and drink products determined increased levels of concern among the population. A proposed immediate solution for this problem is to raise the price of sugary products to encourage people to consume less sugar. From my point of view, the proposed solution may have a borderline impact, however other methods would lead to greater progress. First of all, sugar added in large quantities is most common in processed foods that people rely on for a quick snack. Because such products are handy and cheap and humankind has always been in a rush, many will prefer to cheat and stick to unhealthy meals, making sugary foods a large proportion of one's daily calorie intake. In my opinion, there are two solutions that the government can implement so as to limit the sugar consumption: cap the levels of sweeteners allowed to be sold in edibles or add an extra tax based on the percentage of added sugars. Therefore, rising the price is one way to ward off the rapid demand for these sugary foods. On the other hand, educating the population to become aware of the health issues caused by high glucose consumption is a better method to encourage citizens to undertake a balanced diet. For instance, in Romania, a Coca-Cola product which was available on Christmas has lost its popularity after the media revealed its detrimental effects on our health. In my view, the authority should raise awareness on the harm sugary foods cause through public campaigns such as spreading information through media platforms or give talks in schools that target the younger audience. In conclusion, due to the fact that high intake of sugar-added products puts the individual's health at risk, the public agency should implement solutions that will benefit the wellness of the people. The proposed regulation, which is making products that contain a high amount of glucose more expensive, is a viable solution, but, as I have presented, there are other better ways to solve the issue in question.