Hydrogels provide a lot of scope

Hydrogels provide a lot of scope for simple enhancements in their structure and introduction of chemical functionality. they can place different functional materials in their highly porous networks, which makes them potential candidates for numerous applications. [360]. in the way using hydrogels, Wang et al. used an artificial olfactory system based on a hydrogel colorimetric array to overcome the limitations of artificial olfactory systems to detect ultra-low or non-volatile target analytes inclusive of NaClO, KClO₃, NaClO₄, urea, and KNO₃ with a proposed system of hydrogels with special colorimetric reagents which have been able to detect and distinguish among these five improvised explosive microparticles with a detection limit of as low as 39. 4 pg and also, the quick response time was less than 1 second for KClO₃, NaClO₄, KNO₃, and urea. in this study, to mimic the functional characteristics of natural olfactory systems, an artificial colorimetric olfactory system was designed and constructed based on the subsequent analogs, as proven in figure 39: First, to simulate the olfactory mucosa, which to permit odors to be physically adsorbed and diffused, a hydrogel was used to create a micro-liquid environment to absorb and diffuse the target microparticles. then, to simulate odor-binding proteins, special colorimetric reagents are embedded within the hydrogel as basic differentiation elements; and the last, to stimulate olfactory receptors, which facilitate the production of olfactory signals based on shape changes, reaction products with particular colors were considered as known signals of the olfactory system. To offer hydrogels with colorimetric abilities and to prevent damage or drying of the colorimetric hydrogel in ambient conditions, a multifunctional colorimetric hydrogel-PDMS combination was developed with a PDMS layer at the lowest as a substrate and a PDMS cover cap on the top. The process of preparation and detection of colorimetric hydrogels is as follows: First, the colorimetric hydrogel is prepared through solvent transfer technique by placing the colorimetric reagent on a pristine polyacrylamide hydrogel (PAAm) without destroying the three-dimensional porous network structure. while used for detection, colorimetric hydrogels physically adsorb, and diffuse target analytes, facilitating the reaction between analytes and reagents in the hydrogel to supply colored compounds, which causes Optical signal generation in colorimetric hydrogels without structural differences. The colorimetric hydrogel can return to its original state after detection via simple extraction of products produced throughout detection without affecting the structure of the porous network, and show the reuse of colorimetric hydrogels, which usually demonstrate the advantages of hydrogels. in this array, the colorimetric sensor has made a great distinction and recognition and has been beneficial in terms of cost reduction and Eco-friendy.