Question: Some people believe that a person's culture is defined by their country of origin, while others believe that has only a minor influence. write 250 words.

Culture is defined as having shared beliefs and values. This is mostly influenced by a person's country of origin. However, others believe that nationality plays only a very small role in it. This essay will review both views and express my opinion on the same. The main perception is that location or nationality predetermines one's culture. This is as most people living in communities identify as having the same culture. And from that, we tend to identify the communities based on where the majority of its inhabitants came from. An example of this would be 'Chinatown' in most cosmopolitan cities. As most of the settlers in that area are of chinese descent, the community gets its name as a result. This is as they mostly share the same race, values and belief systems. The alternative view is one that environment has a bigger impact on a persons culture. The easiest example of this would be how the internet and cable tv have changed the behaviour and dressing of most youths. As such they behave in ways compatible with the trends that they follow, and not necessarily aligning themselves to the culture of their country of origin, This is a typical example of the 'nature vs nurture argument. Both nationality and environment affect the resultant culture of a person. However, I believe the main factor that determines the same is the level of exposure that one has to either their natural culture or to external influences.