Question In some countries, there are fewer young people who listen to or play classical music these days. Why is this? Should young people be encouraged to play or perform classical music?

Music serves as means of relaxation during leisure time. There are lesser proportion of youths who pay attention to traditional songs nowadays in some nations. This essay will discuss the reasons why fewer young people play classical music and why they should be motivated to play them often. To begin, there are various causes as to why a reduced number of youngsters listen to traditional music. Firstly, young people do not find art songs interesting compared to modern day notes. This is majorly because the beats produced in traditional music seems to be out dated, and do not appeal or arouse their emotions. For instance, in a recent study, 88 percent of 100 students in Lagos universities reported that the sounds that emanate from this music is ancient and boring. Secondly, most teenagers are not interested in old music which is due to the fact that this songs have very low attention span. Most of these youngsters prefer foreign music because it is more popular among their peers. In addition, youths are very sociable and due to this reason they spend quality time listening to music that would expose them to the outside world. However, youths should be inspired to play classical tunes. This is due to the fact that these songs bring good memories about the culture of the environment they find themselves. For instance, in a recent survey done during Eyo festival, it was observed that a large number of young adults participated because they believed in this tradition and placed so much value on them. Also, classic music helps to promote the skills of young people. They tend to learn how to play musical instruments such as piano, violin and among others. In addition, youngsters should be encouraged to play classical songs because they are extremely simple and easy to understand. In conclusion, a reduced number of youth play classical songs these days in some states. Most of them find these music boring and does not worth their time. Informing the young people that they can develop their skills and learn about their culture will inspire them to listen often to traditional music.