Future of Study and Career Plans

Introduction In this report, our goals are to analyse the data of the future career paths of the Samsenwittayalai School’s Mathayom six students in Mathematics-Science program, ranging from class one to class eight, class fourteen, and class fifteen. The information that gathered included eighty-four students, thirty-six of them are male and forty-eight of them are female, which are separated from curriculums. Which subject does student tend to choose? The first question is about ‘What is the most subject that students chose in a university? ’. From the information we got, nine-teens students or twenty-two point two percent of the students choose science. Seventeen of them, twenty point two percent, chose engineering. Thirteens of them, fifteen point five percent, chose architectural. Twelve of them(fourteen point three percent) chose the medicine and another twelve chose languages. In addition to that, the other seven and four students choose to study history-geography and Law respectively. What job would they like to have when they finish? In the second question, we asked about the career path that they wish to have when they finish university. From our poll, we have created many options to be chosen from, for example, applied science, liberal art, journalism, and so on. The result shows that a lot of them chose engineering, which represented fifteen people from eighty-four students (or seventeen point nine percent). The second rank is followed by medical science which is fifteen point five percent or thirteen students. The other sixty-six point six percent of students selected the other various career paths. Conclusions Altogether, we can see that most of Samsenwittayalai School’s Mathayom six students in Mathematics-Science program, tend to study mostly around the field of science and engineering in university, it might correspond to the educational curriculum from high school that lead those students to be more adaptive to these fields rather than languages, art, law, and culture. By this way, the career path of them is more likely to end up with jobs in the field of science and engineering.