Purchasing on digital platforms rather than physical shops, is in vogue presently which certainly affects the environment and workers who are jobless due to this shift.

Purchasing on digital platforms rather than physical shops, is in vogue presently which certainly affects the environment and workers who are jobless due to this shift. I believe it brings both advantages and disadvantages to the climate and people who were rendered without work. To begin with, as people shop without travelling out to the shops, it saves valuable fossil fuels that are already depleting with a rise in vehicles. Hence, the environment is largely benefitted when the populace makes shopping by merely clicking on gadgets without stirring or stepping outdoors. Air pollution is cut down with the rise in popularity of online shopping. Nevertheless, with the spiralling of buying on the web, there is more packaging material consumed to courier ordered goods. It is evident that there is a surge in plastic and paper packing usage for fulfilling such online orders. A recent report in the leading publication Times Daily, mentions that in the recent past, the demand for wrapping materials has doubled, which negatively affects the green cover on the planet, apart from rising pollution with plastics strewn all over. However, despite being shown the door and displaced from one job, many working people have acquired employment with a higher pay in the logistics, marketing firms and behemoth online shopping organisations such as Amazon, EBay, Myntra and Flipkart amongst others. Thus, although apparently the attrition rate has risen in traditional sectors like manufacturing, people have nonetheless been absorbed in upcoming digital markets. To conclude, according to me, the growth in online purchasing in current times, impacts the climate in good and bad ways. Additionally, there is no detrimental influence on people who lost jobs in the process since alternatives have opened up.