Punishment is the best way for teaching children

Some people think that punishment is the best way of teaching children to behave well. Others believe that it is better to reward children for good behaviour. Discuss both views and give your own opinion. Nowadays, the importance of child education has been widely recognized throughout the world. This question has divided people's opinions into two groups as well, some claim that by punishing children are taught the difference between right and wrong, while others believe that rewards and praises are preferable. I agree with the latter view as with this method we can give a child motivation to do his best. On the one hand, a significant number of people rely on the idea that punishment will bring about positive outcomes to teach children what wrong and right are. By this way they want to instill discipline. Additionally, it is believed that punishment constricts children from doing negative deeds. However, consulting parents of children for their bad behavior would consequently destroy child's confidence, also constant penalties make youngsters either impudent or coward. Because, this method breaks down child's personal area and as a result, they show their protest by being arrogant and stubborn. By contrast, because of offense spiritually weak kids might become fearful and immature. For these aforementioned reasons I am completely against this way of teaching discipline. On the other hand, a reasonable number of people, including me agree that rewards and praises are more beneficial in several cases. Appreciations do not affect the self-esteem of children, which avoid psychological disorders like anxiety and depression. They are most likely to become more confident individuals and it leads them to achieve more in their future life. In fact, a recent report in a daily paper has shown that juveniles who were rewarded tend to have good manners compared to those that were punished. In conclusion, even though punishment as appreciated by a considerable number of individuals, it has proven that they are counterproductive in terms of mental health of youngsters. Therefore, I am in favor of idea of encouraging kids to behave well by rewarding them.