Psychologists have known for many years that colour can affect how people feel. For this reason, attention should be given to colour schemes when decorating places such as offices and hospitals. How true is this statement? How far does colour influence people’s health and capacity for work?

It is true to say that colours are an indispensable part of our nature. Since the evolution of the human being, language of the colours are trying to be addressed. Today, modern science is able to present us clues about how important the utilization of colours in daily life and places. In our era, it is already revealed by psychologists that colours have a direct impact on the perception of people. It is undeniable that certain colours have some meanings for most people. For example, red is associated with blood and attention. Similarly, yellow is the colour of the sun. Green is a general colour for plants, thus our nature. These perceptions directly affect how people subconsciously behave when exposed to certain colours. In our daily life, the organisation of colours should be well-designed in daily life places to improve and guide perception of people. If a warning message, for example, desired to be given to visitors in a hospital, the colour red should be utilized. In an office, where there is a harsh concentration of stress, green colour would be helpful to make staff feel comfortable with the influence of nature. On the other hand, black may not be a good choice for decorating a place, as it is mostly associated with bad luck and fear. Besides decreasing the working performance, it may also cause a person to feel trapped and pressurized, which is deleterious. Likewise, white is not suitable if there are too many sources of light, since reflection is hazardous to the eyes. In conclusion, colours are a significant actor in daily life. There are various benefits exist, and they could be utilized by suitable applications. Hence, it is important to be rigorous when choosing colours for decoration.