More and more measures to improve the security in large urban areas have been introduced in many countries because of the increased crime. Do the benefits of these measures outweigh the drawbacks?

In today’s era, the crime ratio has increased dramatically. It has been a major concern for many countries to secure the posh areas where most crimes happen. However, several measurements have been taken into consideration to strengthen the security in the urban areas. Governments around the world are increasing patroling and using CCTVs to keep an eye on criminal activites. There are frequent visits by police to check for any unlawful act as well as cameras have been used to check all time activites and keep looking for crimes. Therefore, either crimes are being stopped on time or instant help is provided to the public. In addition, it has helped the country in becoming a safe and peaceful place for people to live. For example, in Japan, every street in urban areas has CCTV cameras that are smart enough to identify crimes and informing the police department about it. On the other hand, it costs a huge amount for the government to buy cameras that sometimes become difficult for poor countries to buy. Under-develpoed countries couldn’t get cameras for urban area because of their high prices. Consequently, crime rate in such nations increases rapidly which becomes a problem for the government and the society. To illustrate, in Lahore, Pakistan, more than 90, 000 theft cases are reported every year because of lacking advanced security. Avoiving criminal activites are of utmost importance for the safety of every individual. In my opinion, such measurents have contributed enough in reducing the crime ratio which undoubtedly is advantageous for the nations. In addition, it doesn’t only decreases crimes but also pressurize people to not to do such illegal acts. To conclude, safety measurement is essential for every country and people. Though, security methods are challenging for some countries but its benefits to the society should not be ignored as it helps in controlling crimes which is a significant concern.