Psychologists have known for many years that colour can affect how people feel. For this reason, attention should be given to colour schemes when decorating places such as offices and hospitals. How true is this statement? How far does colour influence people’s health and capacity for work?

It is often believed that colours can alter the mood and emotions of people, hence, it is argued that the productive and healing spaces such as offices and hospitals should choose specific colours to increase positive outcomes. Although I agree with this statement, I think colour can only influence people so far as to increasing their capacity. Colour has always been an interesting topic where scientist are interested whether it has any positive effects on making people feel certains ways. According to many studies associated to colours, researchers have found that people have certain connotations and associations when it comes to colours. For example, the general population often associates red and yellow to food while white is often associated to something calming. This has resulted to restaurants adopting variations of yellow and red colours in their company logo to appeal to customers, whereas wellness centres and hospitals adopt lighter tones to signify healing. These inherent meaning behind colours induce even subconcious feelings about the related place which is why people should be careful while painting. Despite the influence of colour on people's ability to heal and work efficiency, there are other more prominent factors that needs to be provided importance than influence of colour. Rather than just depending on the colours of the wall to improve employee productivity, companies should also focus on working environment. While some colours may motivate your employees to work, it is also necessary for you to provide sufficient incentives. In conclusion, while choosing the right colours for decoration is essential for some level of effectiveness for most businesses, just depending on this factor for betterment of health and capacity will lead to unsatisfactory results.