Prospects and challenges of the Padma Bridge

“In order to get wealthy, pave the road first” is a slogan, which is applicable for not only China, but also all countries. Reliable infrastructures such as a Padma Bridge can play significant role in economic progress and development of a country. Once complete, Padma Bridge will contribute in enhancing living standard of the people living in southern part of the country. Moreover, it will leave positive impact on the whole economy. The Padma Bridge—a multipurpose rail-road bridge with 6. 15 km-long (in length), 22. 5 meter width and 150km-long 41 spans—is the longest bridge, which will connect Lahgang, Munshiganj to Shariatpur and Madaripur. The onset of the project to build Padma Bridge was not as smooth as it appears now. The project is now being implemented with country’s fund after the World Bank had pulled out of the project over the allegations of corruption, which were latter found to be not true. Not only was that It immensely challenging to set up pilling at the river bed because of its depth and following nature. Padma Bridge is expected to give a boost to our economy. After the completion of the Padma Bridge, approximately 30 million people living in the southern region would experience a surge of 1. 3 per cent (a 1. 3 percent surge) in Gross National Product (GDP) in contrast to above 2 percent in that region. The bridge will shorten the travel time for bus, passenger cars and truck. It would save at least two hours travel time between Dhaka and 21 districts of southwestern region for car and passengers. The poverty eradication would go up by one per cent and 0. 8 percent in the southwest region and national level, respectively. The fact that the Multi-Purpose Bridge will encourage the investors to purchase land and build industries will generate the employment and enhance the trade in this region. Apart from this, the bridge will benefit the tourism industry as tourists are able to reach comfortably Kuakata and Sundarbans, much less time than cox Bazar, and the potential of the tourists in southern part will be raised manifolds. It is heartening to know that the rate of return of this project will be 20 to 22 per cent--- higher than 12 percent, a lucrative point for any project. River training work of Padma Bridge, of course, will help control the river erosion –one of major reasons of landlessness and extreme poverty. The dream Padma Bridge is now a reality, and it is an essential milestone in the glorious history of Bangladesh. Once complete. The bridge will contribute in our GDP profoundly.