Many experts in the field of architectural criticism believe that Iranian contemporary architecture has suffered from severe decline and weakness.

Today, several interpretations of the status of contemporary Iranian architecture are quoted. Some people believe the study of contemporary Iranian architecture at present encounters a kind of diversity and multiplicity of views, which can be interpreted as the lack of coherent ideas in contemporary architecture. Despite that, to me, Iranian contemporary architecture has declined, but positive aspects have equally occurred. Firstly, today's architecture does not have a clear point of reliance, as no valuable and debatable projects can be found in contemporary architectural works. The existence of a few prominent examples in the country can never deal with the mass of chaotic and unthinking construction activities that are taking place. In the face of the West, we have received the "product of Western civilization", but we have been unaware of the "production process" in that context. Thus, today, to deal with the consequences of quasi-modern architecture and to solve our problems in this field, we have to use Western prescription sedatives. The cultural breaks and disappearances of architecture are the result of similar breaks in Iranian culture and society. Additionally, modeling and being inspired by any style in design can be good, but not in the sense of complete imitation. The common boundaries of concepts, wisdom and philosophies are sometimes unspecific to a particular architecture. for example, we implemented very skillful lighting in our designs and created prominent buildings, and light represents a general concept and not specific to our architecture, but when architecture is completely abandoned and over-influenced by the Western media, it loses its essence with all its strong originality. In my opinion, contemporary Iranian architecture has largely tended towards Western architecture from the second half of Qajar onwards and has declined. But this view, which has not been completely positive, is also wrong because sometimes the wisdom of Western architecture, according to our architecture and culture, can along with contemporary Iranian architecture, show us new aspects of architecture. In the end, I think many Western designs can be beautiful, but beauty depends frequently on proportion, so Western architecture may be beautiful but not proportionate to us.