Cycling is healthy and friendly to the environment, but not popular in many places. Why is that? What can we do to enhance the popularity of cycling?

Cycling has been acknowledged as a healthy and environmentally-friendly activity but people are increasingly unwilling to bike in some places. There are various reasons for this trend but a number of solutions can be mapped out to deal with the problem. It is common sense to say that the decreased popularity of cycling stems from several underlying factors. Firstly, the appearance of convenient modes of transport such as the car and bus can allow commuters to travel quickly and conveniently. Therefore, people are likely to prefer them to cycling – a physically demanding activity. Moreover, rather than spending time and energy riding a bike, people all want to devote themselves to performing effectively at fierce competitions such as work and school. Secondly, the cyclists are more likely to be injured due to the lack of exclusive lanes for them and they have to join with bigger vehicles. For instance, that the drivers turn without checking for bicyclists is a frequent cause of cycling accidents at many intersections. For the problem to be addressed, several proposals could be put forward. To begin with, the health benefits of binking should be promoted on the mass media. As many people are still ignorant of the advantages of this activity, proper education through local, regional and national television as well as radio broadcasts might solve the problem. In addition, companies should encourage the workers bike to work by organising cycling competitions with the rewards in the form of monetary prizes, travel vochers and days off. Moreover, the government should improve road network for bike rider by designing and building more routes for them, which could connect to main road in the heart of the city. In conclusion, biking is less preferred due to several factors but some effective measures are recommended to retrieve the best outcome.