what is the advantages and disadvantages of using modern materials instead of indigenous materials?

The recent revolution in the global construction industry has led to the invention and use of new building materials. This has been particularly made possible through the adoption of technological tools in the industry. The majority of these modern materials have provided answers to several issues and challenges facing the industry. The continuous development of industry imposed the need for replacing local materials with modern ones wherever possible, making the environment in which we live in a more secure and better place. This essay will show how modern materials can save energy but will also show the lack of attention to the climate in the use of materials. Undoubtedly, there are significant benefits that modern materials bring to our buildings. First, modern materials could help to reduce the energy and environmental impacts of buildings. It is necessary to increase the proportion of natural, recycled, and renewable building materials to increase energy performance. As I specified above, Smarter windows powered up with nanotechnology are one of the most suitable examples. Moreover, the use of modern materials in buildings makes our environment and surroundings safer and more comfortable, and secure. Despite these advantages, some aspects of modern materials may prove harmful to a building and the world. For instance, modern materials show the lack of attention to the climate in the use of materials. Modern materials pay less attention to the climate of the region compared to local materials. For example, suitable materials for the Iranian climate are not suitable for the British climate. In addition, modern materials increase construction costs. Modern materials are usually more expensive than indigenous materials and increase the cost of construction. In conclusion, I think this is not a question. Both have equal importance in the world. It is tough to choose which is better as it depends upon many factors like climate, cost, design goals, and style of building.