In order to have successful architecture design, some people think you have to think about the external form. Others say that function of spaces is more important.

One of the most common challenges faced by many architects when they design a building is deciding what to give importance to the form or function of spaces. While designing, many principles are considered, of which one of the most important ones is the form and function. In universities, architectural students are taught that the design of a building or any structure should be based on the function of the building to be constructed. This essay agrees we have to think about the external form to have a successful architecture design. The facade gives the building its impression, and, so form plays an important role in attracting the eye towards the building. The form can also deliver the message of the building concept and the characteristics without people even going inside. “The Old Breton Barn, ” explains the perfect example of adaptive reuse. The old French barn from the 17th century was renovated by Modal Architects in 2014 to turn the space into an artist studio. The main idea behind adaptive architecture is to give the building a new function without changing its original form, and this was done for this project. Function, on the other hand, is a completely different term that refers to the use or the circulation that will take place in the space. The function of any building is to provide shelter and stability. The space invented to use it to its maximum potential by assembling raw materials without any non-essential decorative purpose is what the principle of function in design architecture defines. Any building aims to know what activity is needed as a guideline in basic designing. It is to prevent any sort of waste space, for instance, there are times when narrow spaces or low-heightened spaces are created only to achieve desirable shapes or exteriors to give a building its form. It is essential to create productive space, i. e. , a space that holds a purpose irrelevant to the fancy exteriors. As we come to the end of this essay, we can hereby notice the importance of form and function. In designing a building, it is highly important to balance decoration with purpose, which brings us the principle of minimalism into place – aesthetic yet focusing widely on the purposeful aspects. In my opinion, the form takes priority over performance. But, both the external form and function of spaces are important.