pros and cons wearing uniform

It is often believed that a uniform helps create a disciplined atmosphere at school. I agree with this view. In my opinion, students should be required to wear uniform because of the many benefits offered by it. However, there are a plethora of cons to wearing a uniform. In this essay, I will discuss some of the reasons why pupils should wear a uniform and some of the uncomfortableness wearing one. Let’s begin by looking at the advantages of wearing a uniform. Firstly, it creates a positive environment in schools; consequently, the decorum of school is maintained efficiently as poor children are not bullied on the basis of their clothes. This also eradicates any disparity between rich and poor students. Thus, a happy environment is created. Moreover, parents’ hard-earned money is saved as children are supposed to wear uniforms. For instance, many parents are happy to send their children to schools where uniform is compulsory. Nevertheless, despite the advantages, there are certain disadvantages. For instance, standard size uniforms may not be comfortable for fat children. However, those children can get their uniform stitched by a tailor. Another minor issue is that students may get tired of wearing the same piece of clothing every day; this problem can be resolved by having different uniforms on different days. Both pros and cons considered, wearing uniform from early age makes the student disciplined and create an atmosphere of equality at school. All of these rules, requiring students to adhere to the dress code, have more advantages than disadvantages.