PROS AND CONS OF STUDYING ABROAD

On the outside, it may seem extraordinarily strange that some individuals choose to journey hundreds, perhaps thousands of miles to study abroad when they could just easily register for a similar course in their home country. But on the inside, there are many valid reasons why individuals may choose to cross borders in the pursuit of a degree, diploma, or certificate program that is readily available at home. As already mentioned, the advantages of studying abroad are many. First, international institutions offer a wide variety of courses, some of which may not be available at home. The wide variety gives the students an upper hand in selecting courses that are tailored to meet their preferences and the needs of the market. Indeed, many students from less developed countries choose to study abroad since many of the courses offered at home have become irrelevant to the needs and requirements of the job market. In this respective, students who study abroad are assured of having a competitive advantage over their counterparts who wish to study at home since they will meet the specific needs of the job market. Second, the exposure one gets while studying abroad goes a long way to assist individuals in the social and work life later on in life. Studying abroad also comes with many opportunities that may be hard to find in-home countries. Students are offered the opportunity to learn new and exciting languages while studying in modern institutions equipped with state-of-the-art laboratories, contemporary library services, and the best computer facilities one could think of. This may be a tall order to request from local institutions of learning. However, there exist several disadvantages of studying abroad. One of the most challenging disadvantages relates to culture shock. Some students find it extremely hard to adopt or get assimilated into the cultures of foreign countries. As such, their stay in such countries is full of difficulties. Apart from culture, many students suffer from acute spasms of homesickness while studying abroad. This actively serves to deter them from achieving their long-held dreams since many are unable to cope or adjust to the fast pace of life in foreign countries. Communication difficulties have also been mentioned as a disadvantage in studying abroad. What’s more, studying abroad is thought to be a very expensive affair due to high tuition fees and other charges related to air travel and upkeep. As such, it is seen as beyond the reach of many students who would otherwise want to study abroad. In conclusion, studying abroad is always one of the great dreams for students to improve their knowledge, experience life in a new place, and get better employment opportunities in the future. However, some disadvantages will hinder studying abroad. But if you have the chance, I think studying abroad will help you have a better life.