Pros and cons of extinction local languages

There are thousands of languages in the world today. Some of them are strong languages spoken by many millions of people, while others are spoken by smaller groups of people, sometimes numbering in the hundereds. There are both merits and demerits involved in extinction of languages. Primarily, there are some merits attached th their extinction. From a practical point of view, having fewer languages can lead to greater ease in communication. In addition, there is an economic advantage, since there will be no need for translators which can be costly. As every rose has a shorn exlinction of languages too has some disadvantages. First of all, those who have lost a language have also lost a culture, a way of expressing themselves, and a way of understanding the world. They will never be able to express themselves fully in their new language. Secondly, the quality of communication in the common language is limited. The reason for this is that people are writing and reading in an acquired language, not the mother tongue. Also, this acquired language may simply be unable to express some of the ideas of the non-native speaker. In brief, then, language death is s tragedy. Those whose language dies lose part of their identity, and away to give expression to their deep throughts and feelings. For the rest of the world, there is a loss of diversity. Along with language, a whole culture and way of expressing this culture die.