Pros and cons of children playing computer games

Since the dawn of human ingenuity, people have devised ever more entertaining tools to cope with boredness. Some people assume that this kind of entertainment can accelerate pitfalls whereas others believe it can bring quite significant benefits to a child’s development. In this essay, these two viewpoints will be thoroughly clarified. Computer games can unquestionably harm children. To begin with, these games will undoubtedly result in health degradation. Sitting in front of computers’ screens can cause physical problems such as short-sightedness and backpains. Besides, wallowing in virtual games can lead to mental disorders such as aggressive behavior when mimicking characters. To depict, A 15-year-old Chinese boy continuously played computer games until his left arm became paralyzed and could not move. Likewise, playing too many online games also negatively affects private life. Children will lose contact with the real world and hence, they become isolated and suffer from autism or anti-society. The study process, in addition, is also interrupted because of defìciencies in time. On the bright side, computer games still bring some benefits to children’s development. Firstly, education properties are involved as a self-evident truth. Playing cyber games can help improve key learning skills such as cognitive process, logical thinking besides imagination, and creativity. For instance, games that require them to play against virtual or real opponents can significantly enhance independent decision-making skills. Secondly, entertaining purposes should be worth noting. Computer games are believed to help reduce stress and treat diseases such as phobia and depression. To illustrate, researchers found that this kind of entertainment can be tweaked to treat people with claustrophobia. In short, it is no-brainer that computer games have brought children both advantages and disadvantages. However, after weighing the pros and cons, I assume that the negative side still prevails.