Pros and cons of being child prodigies

Child prodigies are young children who have great abilities in something and they are such a mystery to experts and non-experts alike. While they can attract praise and attention from everyone they meet, they still have to attract criticism and find it difficult to fit in with the rest of society. So, this essay will discuss the positive aspect and the negative one of being child prodigies. ​To begin with, talking about child prodigies, it is undeniable that they are highly intelligent. They have extraordinary thinking, knowledge, … These children may compose an incredible piece of music, or become a champion, a pianist from an early age. For example, Nguyen Ngoc Truong Son – Vietnam's youngest champion – knew how to play chess before everyone taught him and was competing in national tournaments just by the age of 4. Moreover, child prodigies can focus their attention for long periods of time, concentrating on tasks that would bore other children at the same age. For instance, Abigail Sin, who is a Singaporean concert pianist, practised the piano at least 25 hours a week. Similarly, two-year-old Nguyen Ngoc Truong Son had the concentration to play chess for hours at a time. ​Besides the benefits of being child prodigies, there are still some drawbacks that they have to face. The first point is that they are very different from other people of the same age. These children can be geniuses at mathematics, have difficulty riding a bike without training wheels like their age mates, for example. They may become frustrated at not being able to connect or keep up in certain ways, with their age mates. And how do child prodigies find friends who share or love their passion? This isolation can contribute to loneliness, along with a desire to be "normal. " Secondly, they can be a challenge. They are a challenge for teachers, who expect their students to prefer Batman to Mozart. They are a challenge to parents, who want to help them but often lack the resources or find their needs and desires difficult to understand and meet. They present a challenge to scientists, who want to study them without further isolating them from normal society. And these children also challenge the world because they reveal the tendency that people have to reject those who are different from the norm. ​In conclusion, everything has its two sides: good and bad, and so does being child prodigies. Therefore, with child prodigies, they ought to know how to balance their life, between their extraordinary abilities and life skills. Then, with the rest of society, they should learn to appreciate their disadvantages and praise them for their talent and contribution.