Proposal for the town council explaining why think the building should be preserved

SAVING THE CINEMA DOLCE VITA INTRODUCTION The aim of this proposal is to explain why the old cinema Dolce Viya placed in Zaragoza downtown should be saved, to suggest some ideas about what could be done in order to modernise and preserve this cultural heritage building and to give some recommendations about how could benefit local people. THE IMPORTANCE OF SAVING THE BUILDING Built at the end of the 19th century the Dolce Vita film theatre is an example of modernist architecture as well as is the first cinema in the city. It can be considered a symbol of historical memory of Zaragoza and of the importance of socialize with other people, as cinemas are a place of encounters in which see a good film and get a debate or discussion after the movie. HOW TO MODERNISE IT AND BENEFIT PEOPLE All the locals claim is to modernise the site being respectful with the original architectonic structure. It would be necessary to consider preserving the 35mm projector and to install a new DCP, making possible the projections of digitalized movies. Another advisable idea might be adapting a part of the space into a modern and cosy coffee shop so that, after the film, people cand find exchange point of view with good service or just enjoy reading a book. CONCLUSION Taking all this into account, it is my firm belief that the Dolce Vita film theatre should be preserved due to its historical paramount importance and benefits in local cultural activity, improving the quality of life of citizens and neighbourhoods. Implementation with the above measures with a wide range of cultural offer will become into a resounding success.