Proper function of prison is to punish criminals and life in prison should be hard.

There is no shadow of a doubt that imprisonment life should be tough, and the main purpose of prison house is to penalize the offenders. I am in variance with this view because, in my opinion, the objective of jails is to rehabilitate criminals, further this essay will argue that punishment does not help to reduce the crime rates. To begin with, prison provides an opportunity for criminals to change their behaviour. This is because several developmental programmes are introduced in jails to teach them social skills and improve over the mistakes. For instances, the USA Psychology Department reveals in a recent survey that over 50% of culprits are less likely to indulge in crime after serving their time in prison as a rehabilitation centre. Therefore, prisons are meant to ameliorate the criminal’s life. However, some people believe that the primary role of prison should be to serve punishment to the people who do not obey laws. If criminals face brutality then there are few chances that they want to alter their nature. In addition, they will not be able to make a connection with society and remain isolated. Hence, their probability of reoffending crime will be increase. For example, a study by Federation University revealed, 60% of crooks again break the laws after treating with cruelty. In conclusion, although prisons are built to punish the offenders, I believe that if these jails used as establishment centre, then offenders become better person in society and the rate of crime will also be reduced.