Professional athletes like footballers are overpaid.

Sports are considered to be an essential component of society where people indulge in physical activities by cooperating with one another. Many cynics believe that people who play professional sports are overcompensated. However, I completely disagree with this idea as I believe that the reverse stands true, wherein athletes are usually underpaid. Firstly, professionals who play sports like football are constantly training and working hard as they devote more time to football than any other aspect of their life. They endure the pain of separating from their family, as they sacrifice their time for football. Their dedication and skill completely outweigh the salary they receive for their training because they are poorly paid. The Ministry of Sports in Nepal reported that only 15% of the country’s capital was allocated for these professionals, while the remaining were assigned for other expenses. Additionally, these professionals were not even provided with health insurance nor pensions. Hence, to reason that these players are overpaid sounds preposterous with all the given findings. Secondly, football represents a nation and carries the sentiment of people, especially during big games like the Olympics. They unify the nation and its citizens as they share their love for the game and the country. This is a big responsibility for these players since they carry the emotions of the entire country, not forgetting to mention the tough training they receive while they prepare for such events. To quantify their responsibility by arguing about their wages simply undermines our sports heroes. Recently, it was stated that many players who won big games had to donate half of their income to charities and the administrative committee that managed to host those events. Undisputedly, we can now deduce that football players are not paid more than what they deserve. To sum up, football players are not paid in excess like some people assume. Hence, I believe that the work that they put for their craft while respecting the emotions of people, is disregarded by many for all the reasons stated above.