Problems for Japan companies under CPTPP

First, In CPTPP, Annex I and II, each CPTPP member state has some non-conforming measures that allow governments to maintain exceptions to the CPTPP services and investment chapters, transparently identifying measures, activities, or sectors where the chapters' obligations do not apply. As a result, you should pay close attention to the reservations mentioned. As an example: according to Annex II, Section 2 (Cross-Border Trade in Services and Investment), Singarpore reserves the right to maintain or adopt any measure affecting: “(a) the full or partial devolvement to the private sector of services provided in the exercise of governmental authority; (b) the divestment of its equity interests in, and/or the assets of, an enterprise that is wholly owned by the Singapore government; etc. ” Second, lack of ISDS experience: Japanese companies are hesitant to use arbitration, whether commercial or investment-related. So far, only three publicly known investor-state arbitration cases have been initiated by Japanese investors. As of today, all of the proceedings are still pending. Third, under pandemic, Australia, and Malaysia apply FDI restriction in some certain sectors but still 100% FDI friendly for manufacturing and most of the service industries. Especially, New Zealand government has introduced a temporary notification regime and announced that national interest test will temporarily apply to all foreign investments, regardless of dollar value, that result in more than a 25% ownership interest, or that increase an existing stake in a New Zealand asset to, or beyond, 50%, 75% or 100%. Once the temporary measures end, the minimum threshold for the national interest test will apply to transactions of $100 million or more (or higher if set by a trade agreement), as well as investments in sensitive land or fishing quota.