Prison is the common way in most countries to solve the problem of crime. However, a more effective solution is to provide people with a better education.

Decreasing the crime rate is one of the most difficult challenge for all government and security organizations across the globe. A plethora of people believe putting offenders behind the bars is the best approach to reduce the crime rates on the contrary I disagree with this idea and in my point of view educating everyone is the best approach to decrease the crime rate. I know this is a debatable topic and I will explain why I reach to this conclusion in the following essay. Everyone wishes to stay in a peaceful and secure society and education plays a tremendous role to achieve this. Majority of the education curriculums are developed to increase values like moral, importance about following the law, social and cultural values in addition to academic progress. Once someone learns these values during the school days these philosophies will engrave in to scholar’s brain, and they will utilize these values in rest of their life. One of the recent research results from UNICEF is underlining these facts because as per their assessment report crime rate is extremely low in educated societies. Another crucial point to consider is the atmosphere in prison and its negative influence in prisoners. Several offenders sentenced to jail return as cruel criminals because they are influenced and inspired by born criminals living behind the bars. Numerous people stayed in jail acquire new ideas to execute crime in secure and much efficient way from their jail colleagues. Additionally, they receive an opportunity to build new friend’s circle inside the prison and eventually these groups may convert in to organized criminal gangs. Based on the facts I furnished above, I strongly believe to providing better education will definitely reduce the crime rate rather than sending people to jail for small offenses. At the same time, I support harsh jail punishment for cruel law braking like murder, rape, etc.