For a long time art has been considered an essential part of all cultures in the world. However, nowadays people’s values have changed, and we tend to consider science, technology and business more important than arts. What do you think are the causes of this? What can be done to draw people’s attention to art?

These days there are two main points of view about the importance of art in the world. While some people believe that art is the most remarkable part of the world, others suppose that science, business and technologies are more considerable than arts. This essay will discuss causes of this and the ways of directing people’s attention to art. In the beginning of the XX century the war and worldwide technological progress encouraged people to put their efforts in scientific development, distracting people’s minds from the enjoyment of arts. During the war people were mostly focused on the surviving or defeating of their home country. Then, in the USSR for instance, people were concentrating their effort to recover the country after the demolished war and initiate technological progress. The questions of surviving and putting a contribution to science development were at the first place. This is the reason why the poets of the Silver Age lived at the edge of poverty, despite the fact that they created the greatest work of arts during this period. This is the primary case of the changing the priority in people’s mind from arts to science and technology. One of the important things that could be done to return people’s attention to arts is to create the art works which represent the problems of mankind at the current period. For instance, in the 1980 and 1990 years in the USSR there was a rise of the “Kino'' music band, which have been singing outstandings songs about the changes in the country, which everyone needed so much. Moreover, when the country was partly recovered from the war, people became open to the arts and they evaluated the works of the poets of the Silver Age. So, producing the works of art which are in line with people’s consumption and mood of the current times is the main possibility to redirect people’s attention to this field. In conclusion, the main case of the replacing of arts with science and technologies is the necessity in surviving and technological progress, and the most obvious option to promote arts in the society is to create works which are suitable to the current people’s mood.