Prison is the common way in most countries to solve the problem of crime. However, a more effective solution is to provide people with a better education.

Increasing the crime rate is one of the most difficult issues facing by all governments and security organizations across the world. Many people believe putting offenders behind the bars is the best approach to reduce the crime rates. However, I disagree with this view and in my point of view providing better education and employment assistance is the best approach to reduce the crime rate. I know this is a debatable topic and I will explain why I reach to my conclusion in the following essay. Education plays a vital role in building a safe and healthy society. Most of the education curriculums are developed to increase values like moral, importance about following the law, social and cultural values in addition to academic progress. Once you learn these values during the school days these ideas will engrave in to scholar’s brain and they will use these values throughout their life. Governments must arrange appropriate programs to make sure proper education is available in all age groups. One of the recent research results from UNICEF is underlining these facts because as per their assessment crime rate is very high in uneducated societies comparing to educated. One scary point in the report, kids who quit school during their elementary education had a high tendency to join criminal and mafia gangs. Another important point to consider is the negatively impact of prisons influence in prisoners. Numerous people sentenced to jail return back as big criminals because they are influenced by born criminals living behind the bars. Another critical point our society is mindset of people who are not ready to accept and accommodate if someone received a punishment and sentenced to jail. So, when they get released from prison if the society is not accepting them, they may automatically try to join some gangs. It is important to educate prisoners some sort of job because this will be helpful for them to earn a job once they released after the punishment term. Based on the facts I furnished above I strongly agree to provide better education based on moral values to everyone instead of sending them to jail because this will definitely help to reduce the crime rate. At the same time, I support harsh jail punishment for cruel crimes like killing, raping, etc. Finally, government must try to increase the employment opportunities due to the fact that unemployment is the highest cause of crime.