Computers are becoming an essential part of education. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages and give your own opinion.

Devices that use the Internet are increasingly commonplace in learning. This essay argues that there is an overall benefit from this phenomenon. Firstly, this essay will suggest that the instant availability of huge amounts of information as the main advantage. Secondly, this essay will argue the potential of such devices to distract students from studying as its key disadvantage. This will be followed by a reasoned conclusion. The principal benefit of computers, tablets and other devices with Internet access being more ubiquitous in schooling is that loads of learning resources can be accessed with just a few clicks. The convenience in using these learning resources makes education so much easier for these students nowadays. For instance, Google is a well-known search engine that gives pupils many search results when they want to find articles relating to a subject they are confused about. However, such tools of learning also contain gaming, streaming and social media applications that serve to distract students from learning. These applications have ease of access. Moreover, these applications are designed to ensure that the user continues to stay on them. For instance, Facebook has an algorithm that recommends a student more related videos once he has finished the first video. As this student watches more of such videos, he can easily waste large amounts of time that could have been used for studying. In my opinion, I still feel that the wider use of these Internet-based tools of learning in education is overall, a positive development. This is because the wide access to information does help students to understand concepts more easily, and this helps students do better in examinations. While it also contains applications that distract students from their study, this can be circumvented with discipline. For example, after students from National University of Singapore began using tablets a few years ago, it was reported that about 15% more students graduate with First Class Honours as compared to the time when computers were less commonly used in education. In conclusion, while computers being more widely used in education enable students’ access to information and thus easy grasp of concepts, these computers also act as a potential source of distraction from studying. However, so long as the student is disciplined, he or she can still reap the full benefits of using computers more often in education.