Prison is the best way for criminals

These days, every time you turn on the television or flick on the pages of newspaper, you learn about victims of crime. But what is the most effective way of dealing with the rising crime rate in our society? Some people believe the best way to punish criminals is to sentance them to time in prison. I completely disagree with this idea and in this essay i will support my opinion with examples. Firstly life in jail is far too comfortable for prisoners. For examples many inmates have accsses to luxsurles such as television, computer and spor fasilities and so on. In other word, spending time behind bar is more like being in a holiday camp. If prison is going to act as a detterent, then i believe it needs to be considrably tougher. Another reason why i disagree with prison as a punishment is that a large number of prisoners are not actually a danger to society. Take shoftlifters as an example. They are often locked up in the same cells as murderers. I strongly believe that is a serious waste of taxpayers' moneyOn the other hand there is an argument that prison can help to rehablilitate offenders. Many inmates have the opportunities to study while the are released. In conclution, although it is a common belief that prison is the best way to punish criminals. I believe it is too soft and that it is not nessesary in the majority of cases. Personally i think prison should be the last option when all else haa failed