“Prevention is better than cure”. Researching and treating diseases is too costly so it would be better to invest in preventative measure. To what extent do you agree

It is often argued that it will be more cost effective to put effort into preventing diseases rather than spending a plethora amount of funding on research to develop new medicine. This essay will argue that while it may be cheaper, some illnesses are almost impossible to take precaution against. While it is hard to argue that a budget that is being sunk on studying and treating illnesses is costing an enormous amount of money each year from taxpayers which is why many believe that those funding should be redirected to develop an effective counter measure against sickness instead. However, the ever-growing world populations make it difficult for governments to ensure that all of its citizenry are well-informed and well-equipped with tools and knowledge to protect themselves from diseases. What’s more, there are a wide range of illnesses cannot be prevented through precaution alone contracted through genetic. As a result, treatment for these non-preventable diseases will not be possible without research. Furthermore, there will always be a new epidemic due to the evolution of virus and bacteria. Therefore, we need to actively conduct researches and arm ourselves to tackle any unknow viruses that could potentially annihilate millions of people. In conclusion, this essay argued that prevention should be exercised against common viruses to avoid getting sick but relying only on preventative measures cannot help us avoid illnesses that require medical intervention. Hence, research is absolutely critical in order to develop medicines and advanced medical procedures to combat these non-preventable, and genetically link diseases.