Prevention is better than cure. Researching and treating diseases is too costly so it would be better to invest in preventive measures. To what extent to you agree.

I completely agree with the opinion that prevention is better than cure because it requires a lot of investment to research over a disease and then the treatment. Firstly, the essay would discuss the barriers of researching over a disease, secondly it would talk about the possibility of the treatment. Research over diseases have been an ongoing process for centuries yet we are short of cure of a large number of existing diseases including HIV and cancer. It needs a lot of resources to research on any particular diseases such as scientists, research laboratories, hospitals, time, and enough resources to test the medicine. For example, Spanish flu took away few millions of lives in 1919 before anyone could come up with any medicine/procedure to treat people. The success rate of coming up with a medicine of every other diseases is also very low. Treatment of any diseases post successful development of a medicine/procedure is another difficult process. There are many problems in treatment including successful identification of the disease, and enough hospitals, doctors and medicines to cater to the needs of patients. Another problem is whether every patient could access as well as afford the treatment. A disease also prevents a person from working effectively, which in turn hits the economy. For example, people suffering from serious diseases are admitted in hospitals and are unable to continue with their job. To conclude, one can agree with the statement that the cost of research and treatment of a disease is too costly, sometimes costing the lives of patients, and therefore prevention is best option to go with.