Present what you know about the relationship between language and culture. Give examples for illustration.

Language and culture are closely related. A certain language that exists always has a close relationship with the social – cultural context. If the communicator does not pay attention to the cultural factor in the language, it is very difficult to successfully communicate that language. With this reason, beside language ability, language learners must understand how that language is used in specific social – cultural contexts. Therefore, we need to understand the relationship between language and culture. Language is a system of “speech, manual, or written symbols” that humans use to communicate. It enables us to communicate, interpret, and play. Language helps us to share with others and identify ourselves. A group of people’s characteristics and patterns of behavior define their culture. Language, arts, and customs are the basic categories we use to characterize culture. Culture teaches us how to think, communicate with others, and perceive our surroundings. This is your cultural perspective. Culture is often used to identify or separate people into groups. Western culture, Eastern culture, and African culture, for example. Therefore, language is often accompanied with culture. Within a social community, culture and language share human beliefs, realities, and actions. Whether it’s national folklore or everyday conversation, language and culture go hand in hand. Depending on where you grew up, language will be different. We pick up on those behaviors, expressions, and intonations from the people around us. For example, in Vietnam, with the word “ a bowl”, in the north people often say “ cái bát “, in the central they call “ cái đọi”, and in the south it is “ cái chén”. Pitch, intonation, speech rate, facial expressions, and hesitation noises are examples of paralanguage. It has a significant influence on the language we use. In generally, language is related to all features of human life in society. Comprehension of the surrounding culture is key to learning a language. The language also allows for the development and evolution of cultural values.