preparing for Tet holiday

Tet, the most important national festival of the Vietnamese, marks the arrival of spring and a time for renewal. Tet is also a chance for family reunions and celebrations with great joy and hope. Therefore, Preparations for this occasion by preparing traditional food, decorating the house or shopping are inevitable, beginning a couple of weeks before the big day. To get ready for the Tet holiday, the family prepare several items like food and ceremonial offerings. First, they buy lots of food like chicken, meat, beef, vegetables and so on. Besides food, decorating items are also essential. Peach blossom, apricot blossom, kumquat tree are the popular choices for a symbol of luck and well-being in the next year. Other things to prepare are candy, fruits and cakes for people visiting our home at lunar New year and some lucky money for the children. It seems that there are many items people have to prepare for this special occasion. Despite the business, all family members still feel happy to do these objects together and excited for a new beginning. Another preparation for the Tet is cooking sticky square rice cake, which Vietnamese call Chung cake. The cake is a combination of sticky rice, green bean and pork wrapped in a square of four layers of Dong leaves. After wrapping the Chung cakes, Vietnamese place cakes in a pot, pour enough water covering the cakes and boil on high heat. Then they spend around 14 hours cooking the cakes continuously. When the cakes are done, they are taken out and pressed to remove the water. 14-hour cooking is also a chance for all family members to gather to cook the cakes and talk about various aspects of their daily lives after a hard-working year. Tet holiday usually starts at 22nd or 23rd of the Lunar Calendar and finishes at 5th or 6th in the following year, when people come back to their daily work. In this period of each year, everyone is enormously busy because they have a lot of things to do. On the 23rd of the Lunar Calendar, people show their respect to Ong Cong, Ong Tao (Vietnamese Gods) by dedicating golden carps or golden fish. In the following days, family members join hands to clean, redecorate their houses due to the Vietnamese s' belief that a clean house brings luck and happiness. In the last days of the Lunar years, people sit together and enjoy the meals. They are reminiscent of their memories to confess, talk to the family about the near future, and hope for a smooth and favourable year. Then, they enjoy Countdown Eve and cheer “Happy New year”. Tet festival is a fun time full of anticipation and excitement as Vietnamese people return to their families and get ready to prepare well in advance. Preparation for this holiday is also expected due to its family bonding and creating an enjoyable atmosphere to welcome a new beginning.