railways vs public transport

Railways as a means of transport plays an indispensable and imperative role in the operations and development of an economy. A group of people consider that government should invest in high-speed train links and networks, however, others are in the favour of enhancing the current public transport system. In my perspective, spending the state's funds on upgrading the existing conditions of public transport is significantly more essential than spending it on construction of very fast trains. Certainly, new revitalised bullet trains tracks would be beneficial both for the general public and economy. If high speed trains be given preference the issue of traffic congestion would be curbed to a great extent as people will discontinue to commute in their own private vehicles. Not only this, it will aid people to save their time which they commonly lose in traffic gridlocks and boosts the productivity. For instance, traffic jams cost US economy 87 Billion USD in 2018 and it is estimated that construction of such locomotives will minimise this loss. Hence, creating high speed rail tracks are necessary for the reasons aforementioned. On the other hand, Government, especially in developing nations, should lay more emphasis on improving the existing public transport infrastructure because of its wider coverage, affordability and inadequacy and terrible condition. Not only do the mass transit systems like railways, buses are used by larger section of people in the world but also offers mode of transit both for passengers and freight which in turn makes it a lifeline of transport system of any country. Horrific state such filthy premises, poor hygienic conditions of stations or depots of present public mode of transit (mainly in developing or third world nations) makes it inarguably essential for the governing bodies to prioritize funding in this sector. In my judgement, benefits of having bullet trains distinctively and certainly cannot outweigh the extensive advantages of upgrading the present system of mass transit because of the scope it offers, being pocket friendly and trickle-down benefits to financially weaker sections of the country. Higher authorities, therefore, should allocate resources in this direction then spending it on fast trains.