Practice and hard work are more important to an athleye's success than natural ability and talent.

Numerous determinants contribute to athletes' accomplishments, such as innate abilities, good habits, and dedication. Some experts claim that the amount of energy spent is more vital than natural skills. Personally, I firmly agree with this viewpoint, and in this essay, I will elaborate on my reasons. Firstly, raw talent only indicates one's potential, but it will not be sufficient without continuous efforts. In order for amateurs to reach a competitive level, they must foster their aptitude with countless hours of meticulous work on every facet of their sport. Although gifted novices have a considerable advantage and will more facilely ameliorate, they will never actualize their potential without exerting themselves. For instance, one of my best friends in high school, Amir, was a natural football player. He played in the youth league and amazed everyone on the field, so much so that his coaches were satisfied he would become a professional. However, he did not feel he needs to invest as much effort as his peers; consequently, after a while, he fell behind, so less capable colleagues were recruited while he was left out. Correspondingly, for a sportsperson, a born capacity is not sufficient. Furthermore, the majority of the star players are both hard-working and gifted. From the thousands of pros, only a certain percentage are considered superstars; thus, entitled to substantially greater salaries and fame. If an individual desires to become not only an athlete but a successful one, he or she must give it all they have. Supporting this idea is a study conducted by the Hebrew University of Israel's sports lab. The research discovered that the 10% of sportspersons who won the most and received the most money diligently follow a strict regimen. Accordingly, athletes who aspire to achieve their ambitions to become one of the best or win tournaments can not do so without a comprehensive long-range training program. In conclusion, people who want to be serious competitors will never do so if they refrain from working tirelessly for their goals, even if they are naturally apt; therefore, it is more principal for them to exert themselves than to have a flair.