positive and negative influences of Western lifestyles on Vietnamese teenagers. Which overweighs?

There has, in recent years, been an outpouring of information about the impact of Western lifestyles on Vietnamese youths. While the promising benefits that teenagers received when being exposed to a new way of life are mentioned, there exist negative aspects of this issue that need to be addressed. In my perspective, I am more convinced by the claim that Western lifestyles plus points overweigh the minus ones with the following reasons. On the one hand, it is reasonable to doubt the harmful effects of Western lifestyles to young Vietnamese. As Western exposure expands, there are ever-increasingly unfavorable trends spreading within multi age groups. These newly introduced trends rapidly gained their attention due to youngster’s curiousity and tastes, set them on a nerve-racking challenge of grand, glamorous seductions such as open using of drugs, over self-indulgence, etc. These detrimental ways of life, in turn, deterioriates their cognitive, motives and basic functions as a young adult of a healthy community. However, having those aforementioned possibilities acknowledged, we can clearly witness a whole novel society with new sense of self-awareness when Westernized lifestyle is introduced, where the youths being the risk-taker, holding an open-than-ever outlook on life and daring to break any limit that backwards prejudices passed on. An intertwined flow of new practices and cultures have also contributed to support Vietnamese youths stepping out to international competitions, achieving brand new records in various fields such as science, arts, technology, etc. In addition, Vietnamese teenagers, living inbetween multicultural lifestyles, are given the chance to bring up more products comprised of both traditional values and modern renovations with a wider range of efficicieny. Overall, albeit the western lifestyles drawbacks, its beneficial influences definitely outweigh the opposite sides. The question here is not how to discard this issue but to take all perspectives and combine harmoniously between different ways of life – a must for our youths as future global citizens.