Popular events like the football World Cup and other international sporting occasions are essential in easing international tensions and releasing patriotic emotions in a safe way.

Throughout the history of time, conflicts often occur between different races and nations with the goal of expanding the power and territory of one's country. However, in the past century, after the end of the cold war, states around the globe have come to appreciate one another and put in more effort into starting and maintaining the relations between countries and its citizens through hosting joint international festivals such as the football World Cup. In this essay, the benefits and reasons why creating such events is crucial in maintaining good interactions between cultures will be addressed. Firstly, it is important to look at the opposite side of the spectrum. Albeit many people believe in the statement above, certain demographic societies have opposed to the idea, implying that international occasions, where different nations come together to compete in sport competitions, brings more harm than good. This opposition is due to the fact that by racing against one another, different nationalities, who part take in the witness of the sport race, will certainly spark arguments and try to put down others in an effort to raise the value of their own homeland which can result in physical and verbal fights, increasing hate against each other as well as possibly start a hate relationship between nations. For instance, according to a survey conducted with the participants of the 1998 Olympic games in the US, 60% of the people, who was interviewed, responded a rise in the feeling of despise towards other races when they won in certain sport categories such as swimming and running. Therefore, it is by this reason, some individuals do not view cross nations sporting events to be a helpful remedy in creating good friendship between different states. On the other hand, from the perspective of another group of people, it is undeniable that there should be activities that engage a variety of nationalities and countries in a fun and healthy ways to demolish the tension and allow people to express their nationalism in a right way. Indeed, when people spend time cheering for their local sport representatives, they can channel all of their love for their own home countries without negatively putting others down. Moreover, by being an audience in an international sport competition, the chances of recognizing the value of others can also be improved. For example, based a recent survey carried out on the fans of the football World Cup from 2005 to 2020, 89% of the target group have expressed their open-mindedness towards champions from other lands, accepted and celebrated their victory. As a result, humankind becomes closer to one another with the help of these sports games, hence, strengthening the understanding between different parties around the globe. Without such events, nations would have been continually at war with each other. In conclusion, this essay addressed the importance and positive outcomes from hosting international competitions as well as acknowledged some disagreements to the topic. From a personal perspective, it is a must for all nations to create a certain get together to promote cross cultural awareness, develop mutual understanding and respect and give the opportunities for their members of societies to let out their patriotic emotions.