Pollution of rivers, lakes and seas is a major concern for people who seek to protect the environment. What are the possible causes of water pollution, and what effects does this have on animal life and human society?

Water pollution is one of the most serious issues faced by communities who are environmentally conscious. The blame for contamination of water sources is often placed upon big factories, although waste mismanagement by local governments is also criticized. Due to water contamination, several animals and people suffer terrible consequences such as diseases and even death. One of the worst contributors to water pollution are huge industries that produce anything from plastics to food products. When they manufacture certain goods, harmful chemicals and other leftovers are churned out during the process. Since these factories do not have a proper location to throw away their wastes, they mix wastes into the nearby rivers and lakes contaminating the water. Although people are trying to recycle, most of non-recyclable garbage, for example, plastic products and drainage water with faecal matter is dumped into water sources utimately polluting them. Consequently, the amount of wastage in the accumulated in our rivers, lakes and oceans can be extremely dangerous for people as well as animals. Marine life is severly affected by the contimation as a plethora of animals have either contracted diseases, gotten stuck on garbage, or faced decline in reproductive health causing them have a decline in their numbers to the point of extinction. Similarly, human societies that depend on surface water sources have also faced water-borne diseases such as typhoid, jaudice, dysentary and many more. Even though these water sources are polluted, large communities in remote areas do not have an access to another source of clean water and have to depend on these polluted sources for drinking, cooking and cleaning. In conclusion, industrial and human wastes are causing water pollution which in turn risks the marine life as well as causes illnesses in human.