How can society benefit from the contribution that older people can make

Due to the longevity and the advancement of the healthcare system, the ageing population over the age of sixty-five can keep doing various activities of daily living. This essay will discuss some actions in which the elderly can make a positive contribution to society. Firstly, as a member of a family, grandparents who are already retired usually helping the working parents to take care of their children. It is partly because older people have more free time after retirement and will be please to spend time with their grandchildren. As a good example, in some develop countries like Indonesia, more than 50 per cent of married couples still live with their parents and some of them find difficulties to look after their children due to the working hours. Therefore, sometimes assistance from older people is needed. Secondly, after stopping work, the ages could also provide mentorship to young people regarding their professional experiences. Referring to the quote 'Experience is the Best Teacher', adults may gain professional advice from the elderly on how to develop a successful business, for instance, or master certain skills in the workplace. Certainly, this could be an advantage of having an ageing society around. In summary, there are two possibilities that I suggest in which the ages could contribute effectively to society.