Pollution of rivers, lakes and seas is a major concern for people who seek to protect the environment. What are the possible causes of water pollution, and what effects does this have on animal life and human society?

The availability of freshwater is a rising issue today due to highly polluted water bodies like rivers, lakes, and seas. Some of the major causes of water pollution are caused by industrial and chemical waste discharged by factories directly into the water. However, letting the waste out into the water is the only way as any other way would be directly affected to humans. On the contrary, the discharge of this water in the water bodies is saving humans in one way or the other from being exposed to harmful chemicals, but are extremely toxic for aquatic life. The animal life underwater tends to consume this toxic waste causing a threat to their lives and human lives as well, for example, It does not just end with it being consumed by the aquatic animals, but as humans tend to enjoy eating seafood the toxic chemicals are indirectly entering our bodies through the seafood we are consuming. There have been instances where people have died after the consumption of oysters, as some of the oysters were not cleaned well and were served to the people causing them instant death. People living in the countryside where there are the maximum amount of factories located, sometimes fetch eater directly from the rivers, this has caused toxic waste to enter their bodies causing severe health problems. Apart from industrial waste, another major reason for water pollution is all of the plastics that are disposed of by people which does not get recycled and reached the ocean, causing sea animals to consume plastic and suffering from plastic bags or straws stuck in parts of their fragile bodies. Several environmentalists are trying their best to spread awareness about water pollution and how it is affecting both animals and humans. Hopefully, we all together can someday overcome this problem and overcome the scarcity of freshwater.