Pollution levels in London, micrograms per cubic metre

The grah shows how the pollution level due to sulphur dioxide and smoke varied in London between 1600 and 2000. The data clearly reveals that the level of both pollutants formed a similar pattern during this period, but there were always higher levels of sulphur dioxide than smoke in the atmosphere. In 1600, pollution levels were low, but over the next hundred years, thr levels of sulphur dioxide rose to 700 micrograms per cubic metre, while the levels of smoke increased gradually to about 200 micrograms pwr cubic metre. Over the next two hundred years the levela of sulphur dioxide kept on increasing, although there was some fluctuation in tjis trend which reached a peak in 1850. Smoke levels increased a little more sharply during this time and peaked in 1900 at about 500 micrograms. During the 20th century, the levels of both pollutants fell dramatically, reporting a great deal of erratic pattern within this fall. Clearly, in London, the pollutants were a bigger problem only during the middle of the evaluation period and their presence was nil towards the beginning of the next century.