Pollution & Ganesh Chathurdhi in Hyderabad

To start with, Hyderabad is one of the well-known cities in the world with spectacular architecture and impressive living facilities. Number of festivals celebrated in unconventional and thoughtless manner making large cities polluted; of which Ganesh and Hyderabad are one of the festivals and cities. Being a highly appreciable culture, some of its ways must be transformed; reasons for which are discussed below. There is no doubt that it was one of the magnificent celebrations in the city. Charming sight of all roads being filled with divine lights in nights combines extravagant aroma and fragrances spread over the air; altogether, make it a paradise like place. Despite, there is also a part of it which was replaced by modern meaningless act. The intention behind celebrating this festival in olden times is to clean the water bodies by taking out upper deposited mud layer in them; using which devotees could make a statue of their favorite god. In course of time, with increasing quality of life and art of humans, the mud raw material was being replaced with Plaster of Paris which can mold the shape of statue efficiently. As the time progresses, artists, by taking this mindset of people as a chance for their marketing, made gorgeous sculptures of Ganesh with artificial material. This material, in addition to giving the best structure to their art, is highly hazardous and toxic. On the day of Ganesh Bath, large crowd who are supporters of statue dumping; without even considering the implications of their act, submerge the artificial god in various water-bodies. The fabricated chemical as soon as dissolved in a lake or river cause serious pollution which in turn severely affecting the aquatic life. It could cause serious health issues too in terrestrial animals and humans who drink that water. Hence, In my opinion, there is a dire need to stop this habit of dumping toxic waste into vital natural habitats in the name of god.