pollution and environment

Pollution and environmental damage is a global issue with countless countries suffering the affects. There are also iniciatives to help combatting this problem to keep our planet safe. Firstly, our dependance on our cars have led to extremely low air quality in our cities. The public needs to be aware of this threat and use public transports more, or turn to more environmentally-friendly alternatives such as electric or hybrid vehicles. Secondly, rivers and seas they are also at risk and marine animals have suffered horrificly over the years due to oil slicks. It take a long time for the affected areas to recover. Therefore, there ought to be tighter controls so that boats and ships are safer. Finally, the litter is a huge issue both on land and at sea. Animals get hurt by the rubbish wich finds its way into their habitats. In order to stop this, we should reduce the amount of waste we generate and recycle as much as possible. In conclusion, humans harm the enviroment in numerous ways. However, with greater public awareness, stricter regulations and more co-operation from large corporations, we can certainly reduce the risk.