Playing video games have become the hobby of millions of people and even a profession of many. What has led to this exceptional popularity of video gaming. And, is this a good or a bad development?

These days, it is more common than ever to play video games more than other leisure activities. These games are played by electronically manipulating images created by a computer program. Indeed, the recreational computer passtimes such as: ''Call of duty'', ''Super smash bros'' and ''The elder scrolls'' have attracted people of all age groups and have become the favourite hobby of the majority ofthe population. Due to this growing tendancy, it is very important to consider the value of this phenomenon. These games can be a major benefit to the public as long as they are concerned with educational issues; however, such fun activities can also be detrimental to society if they are violent. There are many cases where the computerized games are designed to address specific problems, or to teach particular skills. In fact, several schools have already gotten on board with educational video games and have used them as learning tools. For example, games such as ''Sesame street''geared toward younger learners, brings some well-known monsters to read kids stories and get them engaged and moving through a series of fun and physical games. However, these electronic passtimes can at times have the opposite outcome. Unfortunately, there are many video games that encourage aggressive behaviours and affect negatively adolescents' attitudes because, they show scenes of excessive shooting and use dangerous weapons and this will certainly rise the likelihood of the occurence of similar situations in the reality. For instance, ''Bully'', one the most popular video games in Brazil, have been banned for showing violence and harassment in a school setting. In conclusion, video games can be an effective educational platform and play a significant role in the school curriculum to teach children new skills and to deliver reading courses. Nevertheless, when these electronic tools contain aggressive scenes, they can harm society by increaseasing the crime rate and therefore, it is the responsibilty of governments to censor such games for the benefit of the global public.