Playing a game is fun only when you win. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Competitions are always about excitement – the process of taking risks and making decisions means joy at all stages. If someone loses, they put their finger on why they have lost and what they can do in order to win the next time. And in case of getting a prize – the person instantly feels the rise of their self-esteem. Both of these scenarios implement some sort of fun, but I definitely believe that people get more serotonin and dopamine by taking over their competitors. I will talk about tabletops games to make my arguments clear. Talking about winning, the first thing is the pleasure of being better than others. Take the card game Uno as an example. It is pretty easy to understand how it works and make up the tactics and strategies for your playing style. After that, outsmarting your opponents makes you enjoy your every step. Thinking about what you can do in advance creates tension and helps you get pumped up about everyone’s turn. On the other hand, the players tend to learn something new from each loss. The development of everyone’s routine in the game is what makes it interesting. A great instance of this case is the game called Dungeons and Dragons – the rules are so complicated that it is nearly impossible to understand all of them in one sitting, but if you practice and increase your knowledge about this strategic masterpiece you can become happy just from thinking about it. Hence, the best part is in the path, not the destination. To conclude, it is certainly true that gamers get more enjoyment from winning, as it is natural for every human being to become happy, from getting something – be it a reward, or the feeling of superiority. On the other hand, there are games when someone is beaten, and it can be quite tricky to get happiness from those circumstances.