Pictures and photos are increasingly used to attract people’s attention and therefore entice them to read newspapers or continue to watch news stories on TV. While some argue that pictures are the main feature of any media form since they greatly influence readers, I strongly agree that words as well as attache

Pictures and photos are increasingly used to attract people’s attention and therefore entice them to read newspapers or continue to watch news stories on TV. While some argue that pictures are the main feature of any media form since they greatly influence readers, I strongly agree that words as well as attached photos to a story play equally a key role to influence the readers to continue reading. On the one hand, including photos to the news stories helps watchers from various backgrounds and education levels to understand the content of the story. In other words, if photos are not included in the news, illiterates are unlikely to fully understand the purpose of the story and, therefore, they abundan follow it. In addition, pictures make stories more trustworthy since they are the main key to prove the accuracy and whether the stories are real and factual or not. For instance, the news on the famous media platforms such as BBC News and AL Jazeera are depicted through photos. However, the words and how stories are narrated significantly influence the readers’ opinion. In fact, the style, the vocabulary and the linguistic registers used to plot stories are paramount important while choosing their source. “The economist”, for example, is the most reputed media outlet. This magazine has earned her expanded reputation mainly due to their impressive writing style and how they use words to influence the readers. To sum up, I believe that pictures and words are evenly important while presenting news either on TV or other media platforms and each element completes the other.