Are nowadays' society and roads ready for the arrival of the driverless cars' era?

Are nowadays' society and roads ready for the arrival of the 'driverless cars' era'? Lately, many people have been debating whether the recent appearance of a wide range of technological advances would bring not only benefits to our lives, but also some disadvantages too. One of these improvements is the idea of having 'driverless cars' on our roads and streets. I believe that this kind of project can not bring anything but more problems to our already complicated roads. On the one hand, there are loads of citizens that express their excitement about the arrival of such an advanced technology, and certainly they can not wait until the moment when they will be able to acquire a car that does not need anyone to be driven. What is more, these people think that it is incredibly convenient to have a car that, after leaving them at work, is able to go back home and park there on its own. Others, on the contrary, believe that these cars will bring much more safety to our trips because they are convinced that artificial intelligence will not cause traffic accidents. On the other hand, there are also quite a lot of people who do not agree with the idea of 'driverless cars' going through our roads or streets. They simply believe that it would never be possible to compare the capacity of making decisions between a human and a computer, or whatever is the device in charge of doing it. In conclusion, I believe that it is undeniable that humankind can not avoid the unstoppable advances in technology because they bring us far more benefits than negative sides. But, in the case of 'driverless cars' I firmly disagree with the idea because I personally think that this sort of technology will not bring either more security or better driving conditions.