Physical activity and healthy lifestyle

As per the Australian Government Department of Health For children and young people (5 to 17 years) | Australian Government Department of Health guild lines, children and teenagers should be moderately to vigorously active for 60 minutes a day. However, in 2011 to 2012 the Australian Government found that less than one quarter (23%) of children and adolescents received the recommended 60 minutes of daily physical activity. Not only does physical inactivity impair the growth and development of adolescents Health Risks of an Inactive Lifestyle: MedlinePlus, but it is also capable of creating negative habits surrounding physical activity. An article published by Fiona MacDonald on the site, Science Alert, outlines the potentially harmful habitual results of unhealthy lifestyle choices. MacDonald Poor Lifestyle Choices Can Be Passed Onto Future Generations Through DNA (sciencealert. com) states that epigenetic changes that influence our relationship with physical activity and an active lifestyle can be transferred through DNA, suggesting adolescents with inactive parents likely inherited an unlucky gene. With the substantial decrease in physical activity levels evident throughout Australia, it is likely that future generations will be impacted without an intervention.