Persuading commuters to use public transport is the best way to solve traffic problems in cities.

There has been much discussion surrounding persuading citizens to use public vehicles. Some people think that is the most optimal measure to deal with traffic problems in metropolises. I totally disagree with this statement for several reasons. It is undeniable that persuading commuters to use public transport may have great impacts on traffic problems. One of the major plus points is that the use of public transport can help people reduce traffic jams, especially during peak hours. Because of its large passenger capacity, public transport can carry more passengers than private vehicles. Therefore, it can decrease the risk of traffic accidents. In addition, public transport can reduce the exhaust fumes discharge into the air because the number of public transport will be less than private vehicles. Nevertheless, I believe that persuading individuals to use public transport is not the most feasible method because it still has detriments. Firstly, people cannot be proactive in arranging travel time. They can not be flexible in travel especially at the midnight. When people have unexpected work at night, it is tough for them to find a public vehicle. Another drawback could be commuting expenditure. Some people whose jobs require a lot of travel will waste money if they choose public transport. Therefore, in this case, they tend to use private vehicles. In addition, public transport is often insecure. There is always the possibility of theft if residents are not careful, especially in large cities; therefore, some people prefer private vehicles to public transport. In conclusion, persuading citizens to use public transport is an effective measure, but there are still some drawbacks. I believe that people can find new better solutions to tackle this problem.