Peritoneal dialysis (PD) is an important option for renal replacement therapy

Peritoneal dialysis (PD) is one of the options for renal replacement therapy in patients with end-stage kidney failure. PD offers home dialysis permitting patients to be autonomous from the hospital. However prolonged usage of PD may be limited by scarring and fibrosis of the peritoneal membrane (Fusshoeller 2008). In some 3% of patients on PD, a rare but potentially fatal complication can develop known as encapsulating peritoneal sclerosis (EPS). EPS is a difficult disease to study for several reasons such as it is rare disease with vague diagnostic criteria and there is no clear diagnostic test (Kawanishi, Harada et al. 2001, Korte, Sampimon et al. 2011). There is difficulty in finding suitable animal models in EPS study. The important differences in the animal models in comparison to PD in humans remain the main problem (Nikitidou, Peppa et al. 2015) for example, long incubation time is an important factor in EPS, while long incubation period is difficult in animal models. There is even disagreement as to whether EPS represents the severe end of a continuum of peritoneal sclerosis (PS) or they are entirely two different pathological entities. Aetiopathogeny of EPS has not been explained clearly and changes in peritoneal function could be due to the reflection of effects of long exposure to PD (De Sousa, del Peso-Gilsanz et al. 2012). However, those PD patients who are developing EPS have a tendency to UF failure before stopping PD (Lambie, John et al. 2010).